The Netherlands

The Netherlands consists of the mainland and its overseas islands: Saba, St. Eustatius and Bonaire. The Netherlands is also often called Holland. The Netherlands is quite small, the greatest distance from north to south is 300 kilometers. The Netherlands is one of the most densely populated countries in the world. It has a population of seventeen million, however The Netherlands has very interesting cities, beautifully preserved nature, and varied landscapes.

Dutch is the national language of The Netherlands. However, English is spoken by almost everyone. The Netherlands is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary system, and its government consists of the King and ministers. For historical reasons the government and parliament are in The Hague, although Amsterdam is the capital. The Netherlands has a coalition government. King Willem-Alexander is the head of state.

The Netherlands is famous for its world class painters such as Rembrandt and van Gogh, windmills, cheese, wooden shoes and flowers. Also, the way the Netherlands defends itself against the water, the Delta works is an ingenious method to protect our country that we are famous for.